The Golden Gate Bridge, Highway, and Transportation District (District) is a special purpose district  that was originally called the Golden Gate Bridge and Highway District, created in 4 December 1928. The District, as it is called today, was formed through a California State Legislature decree in 10 November 1969, and it operates three regional transportation assets in the San Francisco Bay Area, namely:


Golden Gate Bridge

Golden Gate Bridge is the most photographed bridge in the world, linking San Francisco and Marin County. It carries two highway designations, US-101 and CA-1.
Work in progress

Golden Gate Ferry

With a fleet of four catamarans and three Spaulding boats, Golden Gate Ferry operates fast ferry services on three routes:
  • San Francisco - Sausalito
  • San Francisco - Tiburon
  • San Francisco - Larkspur


Golden Gate Transit

Golden Gate Transit operates a fleet of nearly 200 buses on over thirty five local, commuter, and regional routes, spanning San Francisco, Marin, Sonoma, and Contra Costa Counties.
Note: while Golden Gate Transit operates routes within Marin County, Marin Transit contracts the operation of such services to Golden Gate. Marin Transit is responsible for the scheduling and management of local bus routes, and it uses Golden Gate Transit buses as well as its own buses, described here.