You are here
Home > sf bay area ferries > san francisco bay ferries
San Francisco Bay Ferry is a consortium of commuter ferry operators traversing the San Francisco Bay, with funding primarily from the Water Emergency Transportation Authority (WETA), an arm of the Metropolitan Transportation Commission. It operates several routes across the Bay, with destinations including San Francisco, Oakland, Alameda, South San Francisco (Oyster Point), and Vallejo, and it will soon expand to other destinations, including Berkeley, Richmond (coming 2017), Hercules, and Antioch. 

Blue & Gold Fleet manages the ferries operated by San Francisco Bay Ferry.

Small Catamarans

These small ferries, named MV Bay BreezeMV Encinal, and MV Vallejo, carry around 250 passengers and operate on various routes throughout the day, most especially between San Francisco and Oakland, Alameda, and Vallejo.

Large Catamarans

These ferries carry around 400 or more passengers on board, and these are usually operated on multiple routes, including East Bay to San Francisco (especially Vallejo) and East Bay to Oyster Point. These ferries include:

  • MV Gemini
  • MV Intintoli
  • MV Mare Island
  • MV Peralta
  • MV Pisces
  • MV Solano
  • MV Taurus

Old Liveries

Prior to consolidation under San Francisco Bay Ferry, these ferries operated with their distinct liveries, making them easy to spot on the Bay.